

Minnesota's Licensing and Parent Aware Training Requirements for Child Care Providers

October 2016

Licensed child care providers and providers that participate in Parent Aware, Minnesota's Quality Rating and Improvement System, both must complete training. This fact sheet provides background on these training requirements and a chart that shows how Licensing and Parent Aware training requirements align over the course of a 5-year period for child care providers.

The importance of on-going training and professional development

Research tells us that when providers and teachers have professional preparation, combined with ongoing training and support, then:

- Providers and teachers are more likely to engage children more effectively
- Learning environments are safer and of higher quality
- · Children have more positive outcomes

Understanding Licensing and Parent Aware training requirements

- Minnesota law requires licensed child care providers to take pre-service training and training on an
 ongoing basis. Providers that seek a Parent Aware Star Rating must also meet training requirements.
- Training that counts for Parent Aware also counts toward Licensing requirements.
- Training requirements for both Licensing and Parent Aware vary based on a provider or teacher's role in the program, and whether the person works part-time or full-time.
- The federal Child Care Development Block Grant Act of 2014 requires that states increase their emphasis on training, especially health and safety training, and strongly encourages states to have a quality rating and improvement system like Parent Aware.
- DHS has been working to streamline the Parent Aware training requirements and better align them
 with Licensing over the past two years. Changes in Parent Aware to improve alignment will go into
 effect July 2017.
 - Both Licensing and Parent Aware use the Minnesota Knowledge and Competency Framework as an organizational structure.
 - Most training for Licensing and all training for Parent Aware can be found on Minnesota's webbased quality improvement and registry tool <u>www.DevelopToolMN.org</u>.
 - Free and low cost training, as low as \$5 per hour, is available both in person and online throughout the state of Minnesota for trainings most in demand.

Alignment of Child Care Licensing and Parent Aware Training Requirements to the Minnesota Knowledge and Competency Framework

This chart identifies the number of training hours required within a 5 year period by Minnesota law for licensed child care providers and for providers voluntarily seeking a Parent Aware Star Rating.

Knowledge and Competency Framework ¹ Content Areas	Licensing Required Training Hours Over Five Years (required; excludes pre- service hours before licensure)		Parent Aware Required Training Hours ² Over Five Years Must be approved by the Minnesota Center for Professional Development		
	Family Child Care	Center Child Care	1 star rating	2 star rating	3 and 4 star rating
I. Child Development and Learning	10	2	8	8	10
IlaIle. Developmentally Appropriate Learning Activities	46	182	0	0	10
Ilc. Promoting Social and Emotional Development			0	2	10
III. Relationships with Families	1		0	6	10
IVa. and IVb. Assessment, Evaluation, and Individualization			2	2	10
V. Historical and Contemporary Development of Early Childhood Education			0	0	0
VI. Professionalism			0	0	0
VII. Health, Safety and Nutrition			0	0	0
Licensing requirements in this category include first aid, CPR, SUID, AHT, passenger restraint, Supervising for Safety.	24	16	0	0	0
Cumulative total, every 5 years	80	200³	10	18	50

¹ Describe the KCF and include link

² Based on the updated Parent Aware training indicators from the 2016 revision, effective July 2017.

³ Based on full-time employment of 40 hours per week for an employee requiring 2% in-service hours. For employees requiring 1.5% in-service hours, the total would be 150. For employees requiring 1% in-service hours, the total would be 100. Employees with lower required percent of in-service hours have higher education qualifications, including: Bachelor's degree or higher, licensed teacher, registered nurse, Montessori certificate, Child Development Associate degree (CDA), early childhood technical college certificate or diploma, and child development associate certificate.